Cultural Arts Review

Posted on October 14, 2012 by

0


Time Magazine, October 15, 2012

page 8 and 9 color photo.

photographed by Muhmmed Muheisen

Lightbox.time.com

In this issue of Time there is a moving picture of an Afghan child, approximately 6 to 8 years old, wearing a very bright red wrap with a colorful yellow print against a deep green field with five goats grazing. This picture to me shows the pain she is experiencing since she has been forced out of her home country because of her religion.  The caption states she is a refugee of Afghan living in Pakistan. It also says there are nearly two million remaining refugees still living in Pakistan. Her face is sad with a frown and her dark deep set eyes look as though they have seen many horrible things and have cried many tears.

Religion has created her world and has cast her out to this place in the world where she is not home. The field in which she is standing in has goats behind her and looks well used. This is shown by the fact that there is lots of trashy litter consisting of water bottles and food containers used by people on the  move.

It makes me glad to be where my religion doesn’t cause me to be persecuted such as hers and also makes me wonder if I would stand that firm in my religion were I pushed to that point. It is true, a picture is worth a thousand word and many feeling can come without one word spoken.

Posted in: Uncategorized